top of page
Writer's pictureNechama Sklar

21 things I really loved this month

In honor of the month winding down, I've decided to experiment with a new series. I want to do a once-monthly round-up post where I compile all the best things I watched, bought, experienced, read, and listened to that month.

I got that idea while making my page on all the things I used & loved. I loved doing a shoutout to so many great things, but there wasn't room to highlight everything. So consider this my follow - up, ongoing series.

All these things are actually from June, as this was scheduled ahead of time. Enjoy!




Read & watched:

I binge-watched the first Harry Potter's. It was great looking back at this series again & rediscovering the magic of the wizarding world. If you want to relive the wonder or experience it for the first time, here's what I watched (in order):


I listened, watched and read less then I would have liked this month, but there were some gems in there. I hope to share more next month.


  • Movie - My Sister's Keeper- I saw my mom watching this & I knew I had to give it another watch. This is a thought-provoking & emotional film that's perfect if you want something to cry to.

  • Book- The Girls At 17 Swan Street- I actually made a review of this.

  • Book- Artemis Fowl - I love this series. It's a light, enjoyable read without feeling dumbed down. I actually made a review of this too.

  • Book- Artemis Fowl & The Arctic Circle- I actually just finished this. The 2nd book in the series & a worthy sequel. Review coming soon.

  • Audiobook - Treasure Island - Look out for this review as well. This classic I loved as a child ( I was a classics girl) is reimagined with a great cast & sound effects as a whole experience.

  • Audiobook - The Name of the Wind - I'll admit, I've been working through this book for a while & I'm not sure when I'll be done, with 13 hours to go. But while it can be a bit sluggish at times, it's filled with great characters, magic, world-building & lore.

  • Audiobook - The Flying Flamingo Sisters - I played this to my younger siblings while putting them to bed. They thought it was hilarious & really enjoyed the listen. And it lulled them to sleep while proving to be an enjoyable listen for me as well.



Youtube:

One thing I definitely have a steady diet of is Youtube. In the background, while I'm browsing or playing mobile games or doing things around the house. Or while I'm unwinding. For all the hours of entertainment, here's who I really enjoyed this month.


  • Dr. Todd Grande - A new addition to my channel list, I stumbled upon him while looking up videos on Dr. Phil. He's a licensed mental health counselor who takes an informed look at topics related to his field.

  • Amanda the Jedi - Another newly added Youtuber. She does witty film reviews & some commentary. I really enjoyed her live-action Dora review.

  • Swell Entertainment - I found her this month while trying to learn more about Quibi. She's a down to earth, funny reviewer. She does a lot of film & subscription box reviews.

  • SAVY Writes Books - Ah, the Youtube channel that led me down the anti - MLM rabbit hole. She has some great videos on Rachel Hollis, writing, Anti - Mlm, and boss babe scams.

  • Münecat - well - produced deep - dives into MLMs, scams & more. She has a great video on Lula Roe & Rachel Hollis.

  • Dominic Noble - An oldie but a goodie. He does through reviews that compare films to the movies they're based on. He uses skits, humor, and great British sarcasm.



What I enjoyed eating:

I have a lot of food restrictions. So finding new foods or even new ways to use them is exciting. I'm always on the lookout for old favorites or new good eats.


To wrap it all up in a nice bow:

That's about all the things I really enjoyed this month. I had fun collecting everything in one place and sharing what I love. I hope to make another round-up video at the end of next month. Maybe I'll switch up the categories for the next month, or stick to this format.

Did you enjoy this article? What were some things you enjoyed this month - eating, reading, watching? I would love to discover more great things. Hope to see you back in the next article.


  • If you want to see even more things I use & love, please check out my mega list. It's a great curated list of products & a great way to support the blog.

  • If you enjoy my writing and would like great content for your own blog or website, I am available for freelance writing. If you want to work with me, you can check out my rates & experience here.



12 views0 comments

header.all-comments


bottom of page